WWE Royal Rumble 2025, Future WrestleMania and SummerSlam Announced For Indianapolis

Paul KasabianFeatured Columnist IIJune 24, 2024

PHILADELPHIA, PENNSYLVANIA - APRIL 7: Cody Rhodes (R) and Triple H celebrate during Night Two of WrestleMania 40 at Lincoln Financial Field on April 7, 2024 in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. (Photo by WWE/Getty Images)

WWE/Getty Images

The WWE and Indiana Sports Corp announced a partnership Monday that will bring the Royal Rumble to Indianapolis in 2025, plus a future WrestleMania and a two-night SummerSlam in to-be-determined years. All three events will be held in Lucas Oil Stadium, home of the NFL’s Indianapolis Colts.

In addition, Indiana arenas (including those in Indianapolis, Fort Wayne and Evansville) will host Raw, SmackDown, NXT and WWE live events throughout the partnership.

“Indianapolis is a fantastic city for major events and we’re excited to invite the WWE Universe to Lucas Oil Stadium for Royal Rumble in 2025, and a future SummerSlam and WrestleMania,” Chris Legentil, WWE EVP, Talent Relations & Head of Communications said in a press release.

The next Royal Rumble will take place on Feb. 1, 2025.

It’s not known at this time when WrestleMania and SummerSlam will occur in Indianapolis. The earliest WrestleMania can be held in Indianapolis is 2026 with Las Vegas hosting it next year.

SummerSlam is scheduled to take place in Cleveland this year and Minneapolis in 2026, with the latter taking place over two nights for the first time ever. There is no confirmed location yet for the 2025 SummerSlam.

This will mark the second time WrestleMania has occurred in Indianapolis, with the city hosting it in 1992 in front of 62,167 people at the Hoosier Dome, the Colts’ former home.

WWE went to Indianapolis for SummerSlam in 2008 at the now-Gainbridge Fieldhouse, home of the NBA’s Indiana Pacers. Next February marks the first time Royal Rumble heads to Indianapolis.

Of course, Indianapolis is known for hosting a litany of major sporting events, including Super Bowl XLVI (Feb. 2012), the Indianapolis 500, the 2022 College Football Playoff National Championship, the men’s basketball Final Four (seven times), the women’s Final Four (three times) and the Big Ten football Championship Game (since 2011).

Related Articles

Back to top button